Technical Conference:
17 – 21 October 2016
19 – 20 October 2016

2015 Plenary Session and Awards Ceremony

Plenary Speakers
Joss Bland-Hawthorn
David Reitze

Awards Ceremony
2015 Frederic Ives Medal / Jarus Quinn Prize Recipient - James G. Fujimoto
2015 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science Recipient - Christopher Monroe

Plenary Speakers


Joss Bland-Hawthorn
University of Sydney, Australia

Astrophotonics: Future Developments in Astrophysics and Instrumentation

Over the past 15 years, astrophotonics - the interface between photonics and astronomical/space instrumentation - has led to important advances in adaptive optics, laser communications, interferometry, vortex coronography, precision spectroscopy through fibre etalons, filtering through photonic lanterns and multi-core fibre gratings, and so on. There is an important role here for nanophotonics if nano-patterning can be achieved over large surfaces (~100mm OD).

These advances will be exploited by a new generation of astronomical instruments, as we describe. The case for photonics becomes even more compelling in an era of extremely large telescopes (25-42m aperture) now under construction.

David Reitze
Caltech, USA

LIGO and the Coming Dawn of Gravitational Wave Physics and Astronomy

For the past 50 years, researchers have searched in vain for gravitational waves, miniscule ripples in space-time emitted from the most violent events in the cosmos.  To move gravitational-wave detection beyond the realm of impossibility, we have just finished construction on Advanced LIGO, a pair of 4 km arm length laser interferometers capable of measuring displacements approaching 10-19 m at their most sensitive frequencies, redefining the meaning of 'extreme precision measurement’.  LIGO brings together high energy astrophysics and many aspects of optical science and engineering in a unique way with the ambitious goal of detecting gravitational waves and opening a new window onto the universe


Awards Ceremony

OSA and APS will present awards and honors during the Plenary Session.

2015 Frederic Ives Medal / Jarus Quinn Prize Recipient

James G. Fujimoto

Optical Coherence Tomography
– Translating Technology to Clinical Practice

This year’s Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize will be presented to James G. Fujimoto for pioneering the field of optical coherence tomography (OCT) and for leading the field to widespread medical  application and major commercial impact.

Optical coherence tomography (OCT) is based on photonics and has had a powerful impact in medicine and research. This presentation describes the history, recent advances and process of translating OCT technology from laboratory
to clinic.

2015 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science Recipient

Christopher Monroe
Joint Quantum Institute and University of Maryland, USA
Using Light to Build Quantum Networks of Atoms

For pioneering research in the use of lasers to realize the elements of quantum information processing with trapped atomic ions, including demonstrations of remote entanglement for quantum communication protocols and use of frequency combs for high-speed qubit manipulation and entanglement.
Laser-cooled atomic ions are standards for quantum information science, acting as qubit memories with unsurpassed levels of quantum coherence while also allowing near-perfect measurement. When qubit state-dependent optical dipole forces are applied to a collection of trapped ions, their Coulomb interaction is modulated in a way that allows the entanglement of the qubits through quantum gates that form the basis of a quantum computer.  Similar optical forces allow the simulation of quantum many-body physics, where recent experiments are approaching a level of complexity that cannot be modelled with conventional computers. Scaling to much larger numbers of qubits can be accomplished by coupling trapped ion qubits through optical photons, where entanglement over remote distances can be used for quantum communication and large-scale distributed quantum computers.  Laser sources and quantum optical techniques are the workhorse for such quantum networks, and will continue to lead the way as future quantum hardware is developed.


Sponsored by: