• Technical Conference:  23 – 26 September 2024
  • Science + Industry Showcase:   24 – 25 September 2024
  • Colorado Convention Center, Denver, Colorado, USA

The Optical Society Awards New Treasurer’s Award for Excellence Among OSA Staff at Frontiers in Opti


13 October 2016

The Optical Society Awards New Treasurer’s Award for Excellence Among OSA Staff at Frontiers in Optics 2016

Deborah Herrin, Senior Director of Information Technologies, Recognized for Contributions to
the Society and its Members

WASHINGTON — The Optical Society (OSA), the leading global professional association in optics and photonics, announced the selection of Deborah Herrin for OSA’s first annual Treasurer’s Award. The OSA Treasurer's Award recognizes an employee who has two or more years of service to The Optical Society. This individual has made significant contributions to organizational excellence, promotes and enacts innovative solutions or exemplifies inspirational leadership. Candidates are nominated by colleagues and/or the OSA community. This year’s award winner will be honored at Frontiers in Optics (FiO) 2016, The Optical Society’s (OSA) 100th Annual Meeting, in Rochester, New York, USA.

“OSA’s members and customers depend on access to the most relevant, timely and high quality content in our field,” said Elizabeth Rogan, CEO of The Optical Society. “Debbie’s developed the tools to provide that access. Debbie was the staff partner in OSA’s 1997 launch of Optics Express, the first open access journal of its kind in optics. Not only did she provide the skills and knowledge from a publishing and IT infrastructure background, but she possessed the entrepreneurial excitement necessary in projects such as this one. She has continued to deliver the best-in-class outcomes to OSA’s benefit.”

Deborah Herrin added, “I am honored to have been chosen as the first recipient of the OSA Treasurer’s Award and thank all those who wrote in support of my nomination. OSA has many talented staff members and it’s a pleasure to work with them as we collaborate to develop the best products and services possible.  I would also like to thank our customers and members – you inspire us in so many ways.”

The OSA Executive Team, the OSA Treasurer, George Bayz and Past Treasurer, Stephen Fantone comprise the review committee for the annual award. Committee members review all applications and select the individual most deserving of the recognition.

About FiO/LS
Frontiers in Optics (FiO) 2016 is The Optical Society’s (OSA) 100th Annual Meeting and held together with Laser Science, the 32th annual meeting of the American Physical Society (APS) Division of Laser Science (DLS). The two meetings unite the OSA and APS communities for five days of quality, cutting-edge presentations, in-demand invited speakers and a variety of special events spanning a broad range of topics in optics and photonics—the science of light—across the disciplines of physics, biology and chemistry. The exhibit floor will feature leading optics companies, technology products and programs. More information at: FrontiersinOptics.org.
About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit: osa.org/100.

Media Contacts: